Revert to default publishing after installing the Sitecore Publishing Service module
After the Sitecore Publishing Service (SPS) module has been installed, users can still revert to the default publishing process using the steps found in the following Solution.
To revert to the default publishing, disable the SPS module as follows:
- For Sitecore XP 10.1 and earlier versions:
- Locate the Sitecore.Publishing.Service.*.config files and change the file extension to .disabled. The files can be found in the following folders:
- Sitecore XP 8.2: the /App_Config/Include folder.
- Sitecore XP 9.0: the /App_Config/Modules/PublishingService folder.
- Switch to the Core database and rename the /sitecore/system/Aliases/Applications/Publish item to PublishDisabled.
- Some icons related to the Sitecore Publishing Service module are displayed in the user interface (UI) after the Publishing Service has been disabled, for example:
- The Publishing icon on the Launchpad.
- The Publishing Dashboard icon on the Publishing Tab of the Content Editor.
- Icons related to the Sitecore Publishing Service module can be removed from the UI as follows:
- In the Core database, create a backup of the following items:
- /sitecore/content/Applications/Content Editor/Ribbons/Chunks/Publish/Publish Dashboard
- Remove the mentioned items.
- For Sitecore XP 10.2 and later versions:
- Disable Sitecore.Publishing.Service.*.config files in /App_Config/Modules/PublishingService folder
- Remove Sitecore.Publishing.Service.*.dll from /bin folder
- Remove items.core.sps.dat from /sitecore modules/items/core folder.
Note: To enable the Sitecore Publishing Service module, revert the changes that you have made.